Blue Heron Review Issue 8 / Summer 2017 “The Healing Issue” Is Now Available to Read Online!

BHR Issue 8 Summer 2017 cover image

(Cover art by Pd Lietz)

CONTRIBUTORS
Poets:
Nina Bannett, Michael Hettich, Gary Jones, M J Iuppa, Catherine Stearns, Karla Huston, Joan Mazza, Jan Chronister, Charlene Langfur, Rachel Dacus, M A H Hinton, Cathryn Cofell, Guy Thorvaldsen, Emily Bowles, Tricia Knoll, Marguerite G Bouvard, Cliff Wedgbury, Lawrence William Berggoetz, Ruth McArthur, Gail Tirone, Kathy Lohrum Cotton, Claire Joysmith, Sheryl Slocum, Tori Grant Welhouse, Kersten Christianson, Roseann St Aubin, Annie Blake, Priscilla Atkins, Janet McCann, Michael Jack O’Brien, Jessica Moser, Jackie Langetieg, Jim Landwehr, Lynne Burnett, Susan Twiggs, Laura Johnson, Mary Strong Jackson, Diane Sahms-Guarnieri, Jonel Abellanosa, Kevin Shyne, Ronnie Hess, Susie Foster Hale, Jodi Andrews, Lorraine Caputo, Kristen Baum DeBeasi, Sandra Lindow, James Dott, Chelsea Comeau, Joanne M Clarkson, Janet Taliaferro, Prerna Bakshi, Jude Goodwin, Karla Van Vliet, Susan Martell Huebner, Laurel Devitt, Kelsey Dean, Martin Willitts Jr, Bobbie Lee Lovell

Artists:
Pd Lietz (Cover Artist), Jason Iffert, Devi S Laskar, Robina Anstey, Kurt John Huebner, Leilani Carroll, Fiona Capuano, Karen VandenBos, Melodie Past

Welcome to the SUMMER 2017 HEALING ISSUE of Blue Heron Review!

This is our first, themed issue for Blue Heron, and we had a record high number of submissions. So many writers connected with the need for healing in our lives on many different levels. This theme was open to topics of physical healing, emotional healing, the healing of our environment, spiritual healing, etc. Poets from across the US, Canada, and abroad showed up in our in-box with deeply personal, poetic narratives about their own experiences of healing. Each poem in this collection is a sacred offering to our readers. I hope that you will be present for yourself, for these extraordinary artists who have shared their stories, and for the future we hold so dear. Within these creations exists a glorious hope for what our world could be, if we listen to each other with love, compassion, and grace.

Please click on the tab for Blue Heron Review Issue 8 Summer 2017 to read the full collection.

There is much to explore and savor here. I hope that you enjoy reading these poems and viewing the artwork, as much as I have enjoyed creating a space for these beautifully rich offerings!

With kind wishes for summer,
Cristina M. R. Norcross, Founding Editor
Blue Heron Review

The June 2017 Blue Heron Speaks Featured Author is Tom Montag!

Welcome to the JUNE 2017 edition of Blue Heron Speaks! We are delighted to shine a spotlight on the work of poet, Tom Montag, author of In This Place: Selected Poems 1982-2013 (MWPH Books, 2014), This Wrecked World (Bitterzoet Press, 2016), The Miles No One Wants (Otata’s Bookshelf, 2016), and The Big Book of Ben Zen (MWPH Books, 2003), among others. There is a spartan beauty to Tom Montag’s poetry, which offers us a window, a door, and a pathway to understanding the world. Through the lens of nature as philosopher and the guidance of a deep inner knowing, we enter into a vast space, where we can openly seek answers. Tom Montag generously provides us with a quiet pause to reflect. After all, we cannot rush life’s wisdom.

Visit the Blue Heron Speaks page of our site to read 3 sample poems by Tom Montag, and to learn more about his books.

 

Tom Montag copy

(photo by Geri Burk)


Tom Montag
, most recently the author of In This Place: Selected Poems 1982-2013 (MWPH Books, 2014), This Wrecked World (Bitterzoet Press, 2016), and The Miles No One Wants (Otata’s Bookshelf, 2016), has been a featured poet at Atticus ReviewContemporary American VoicesHouseboat, and Basil O’Flaherty Review, and has received Pushcart Prize nominations from Provo Canyon ReviewBlue Heron Review, and The Lake. Montag’s poem “Lecturing My Daughter in Her First Fall Rain” was incorporated into the design of Milwaukee’s Wisconsin Convention Center; read the poem and see a photo HERE. Peter Stephens has given thorough attention to Montag’s The Big Book of Ben Zen and In This Place at Slow Reads. Your One Phone Call did a lengthy interview with Montag. Montag blogs as The Middlewesterner. With David Graham, he is currently editing an anthology of poetry about small town America.  Montag’s favorite comment about his work comes from a Turkish writer who said: “Tom, you are my favorite Chinese poet.”

The May 2017 Blue Heron Speaks Featured Author is Hedy Habra

Welcome to the May 2017 edition of Blue Heron Speaks! We are delighted to feature the work of poet, Hedy Habra this month, author of Under Brushstrokes (Press 53, 2015), Tea in Heliopolis (Press 53, 2013), and Flying Carpets (Interlink, 2013). With polished pearl language, Habra invites us to walk with her into the forest to collect insights, create connections, and develop a greater awareness of ourselves and the natural world. Her narratives are dream-like and rich with detail. These are poems which transport the reader to different realms. Open the door to each poem and discover for yourself.

Please visit the Blue Heron Speaks Featured Author page of our site to read 3 sample poems by Hedy Habra and to learn more about her books.

hedy habra headshot 11 copy 3

Hedy Habra has authored two poetry collections, Under Brushstrokes, finalist for the USA Best Book Award and the International Poetry Book Award, and Tea in Heliopolis, winner of the USA Best Book Award and finalist for the International Poetry Book Award. Her story collection, Flying Carpets, won the Arab American National Book Award’s Honorable Mention and was finalist for the Eric Hoffer Award. A recipient of the Nazim Hikmet Poetry Awards, she was a six-time nominee for the Pushcart Prize and Best of the Net. Her work appears in Cimarron Review, The Bitter Oleander, Blue Fifth Review, Cider Press ReviewDrunken Boat, Fifth Wednesday Journal, Gargoyle, Nimrod, Poet Lore, World Literature Today, and Verse Daily. Habra has a passion for painting and teaches Spanish at Western Michigan University. Her website is hedyhabra.com

SUBMISSIONS NOW CLOSED UNTIL FALL 2017

BH postcard med

Artwork by Daniel Adams


Submissions for the summer HEALING issue of Blue Heron Review are NOW CLOSED
. All submissions will be read with great care and attention. Response time is approximately 8-10 weeks from the date the submission was received. Thank you for the wonderful offerings sent for this special issue! Our online launch will be at the end of July 2017. Looking forward to curating another beautiful collection of poetry and visual art!

With kindest wishes for your creative journey!
Cristina M. R. Norcross, Founding Editor
Blue Heron Review
www.blueheronreview.com

The April 2017 Blue Heron Speaks Featured Author is Gwendolyn Brooks

Happy National Poetry Month! Welcome to the April edition of Blue Heron Speaks. In honor of National Poetry Month, we always shine a spotlight on a voice from the past – someone who can enter our current world and offer up some wisdom through verse. Our featured author this month is renowned poet, Gwendolyn Brooks (1917-2000).

 

Gwendolyn Brooks photo credit Poetry Foundation

(photo credit: The Poetry Foundation)

There exists in words many doors, many roads, and many fields leading to the open terrain of the human heart. In Gwendolyn Brooks’s poems, we find inner pathways, leading to places of longing, regret, captured reflections, and raw truth. The reader may wander in knowingly, but will never leave unchanged by Ms. Brooks’s ability to leap into what is most difficult – the workings of the mind. She reveals the depths of shadows, which we must all face. Don’t forget the lamplight, which Gwendolyn Brooks leaves on for us. There is light. There is always light.

Visit the Blue Heron Speaks page of our site to read 3 sample poems by Gwendolyn Brooks, and to learn more about her legacy.

“We are each other’s magnitude and bond.”
~Gwendolyn Brooks

Submissions Now Open for Blue Heron Review! Deadline: April 20th, 2017

The CURRENT call for submissions for Blue Heron Review is from March 20th through April 20th, 2017.

THE HEALING ISSUE

This will be our first THEMED ISSUE. As always, we welcome all meditative, reflective, and metaphysical poetry. This will be for our SUMMER 2017 BHR issue (due to be released online at the end of July, 2017). We are looking specifically for poems about HEALING. This can take any form you wish: physical healing, emotional healing, spiritual healing, environmental healing, etc.

Please visit the Blue Heron Review Submission Guidelines page on our site for full details. We strongly suggest that you read past issues of Blue Heron Review (which can be found on our ARCHIVES page) before submitting.

461073_10150702752088633_548117098_o copy

(photo credit: Jason Iffert)

The Blue Heron Speaks Featured Author for March 2017 is Hayden Saunier

Welcome to the March Blue Heron Speaks Feature! We are so fortunate to shine a spotlight this month on the poetry of Hayden Saunier, author of Tips for Domestic Travel (Black Lawrence Press, 2009), Say Luck (Big Pencil Press, 2013), and Field Trip to the Underworld (Seven Kitchens Press, 2015).

Images so rich, they melt like honey on the tongue. Every poem feels like a dance, and Hayden Saunier provides the music. Nature’s presence in these poems is at once tender and protective.  We are guided to navigate our own roads of memory with great sensitivity.  The reader will want to exist in these poems. Hayden Saunier creates new worlds with her words.

Please visit the Blue Heron Speaks Featured Author Page of our site, to read three sample poems, by Hayden Saunier, and to learn more about her books.

 

hscastingnet - Version 2

Hayden Saunier is the author of three poetry collections: Tips for Domestic TravelSay Luck, which won the 2013 Gell Poetry Prize, and Field Trip to the Underworld, winner of the Keystone Chapbook Award. She has been published in a wide variety of journals including 5 a.m., Bellevue Literary Review, Drunken Boat, Nimrod, Rattle, Smartish Pace, The Virginia Quarterly Review, Tar River Poetry, and Verse Daily.  Her work has been awarded the Pablo Neruda Prize, Rattle Poetry Prize, and the Robert Fraser Award. She is also an actress with credits that include The Sixth Sense, House of Cards, HackDo No Harm, the voice of a broken-down stove for Ikea, and dozens of roles in the theatre. She lives on a farm outside Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. www.haydensaunier.com

The Blue Heron Review Winter 2017 Issue – Just Released!

bhr7-winter-cover-titles-image

(Cover art by Ira Kennedy)

 

CONTRIBUTORS
Poets:
Ethel Mortenson Davis, Richard King Perkins II, Sarah Rehfeldt, Hedy Habra, Ann Wehrman, Sylvia Cavanaugh, Lorraine Caputo, L B Sedlacek, Jason Talbot, Keith MacNider, Lizzy Larson, Robert Ford, Sandra J Lindow, Timothy Walsh, Phyllis Beckman, Janet Reed, Eileen Mattmann, Sue Scavo, Steven Bucher, Martie Odell Ingebretsen, Irene Zimmerman, Mehtab Khalsa, Yvette Viets Flaten, Jacki Martindale, Beth Snyder, Richard Havenga, Fred Kreutz, Janet Leahy, Barbara J Holt, Marie Loeffler, Robert Lee Haycock, Julie A Dickson

Artists:
Ira Kennedy (Cover Artist), Leilani Carroll, Sarah Rehfeldt, Fiona Capuano, Anne C Kaiser, Karen A VandenBos, Teri Peterson, Jeannie E Roberts, Ann Leshy Wood Fuller, Lillian Havenga, Lorraine Caputo

Welcome to Issue #7, our Winter 2017 collection of poetry and art for Blue Heron Review!

It is such a pleasure to read submissions for Blue Heron and to reach out to talented artists to contribute to our issues. Each offering of poetry and art provides a resting place for our readers to pause, reflect, meditate, and refresh the spirit.

I hope that you will enjoy this issue as much as I have enjoyed being the curator. Let Blue Heron be your sanctuary, when you need to take a deep breath and infuse your life with creative energy.

Visit the BLUE HERON REVIEW ISSUE 7 WINTER 2017 page of our site, and dive right in!

With kind wishes,
Cristina M. R. Norcross
Founding Editor
Blue Heron Review

Blue Heron Review News for February and March 2017

February and March are busy times for BLUE HERON REVIEW! Here are some things on the horizon!

The Blue Heron Review Winter 2017 issue is due to be published online at the end of February or early March! (Please be patient, if our release date is the first week of March.) Stay tuned for some beautiful offerings of poetry and fine art photography! Read past issues of Blue Heron Review all year long, by visiting the archives page.

The next OPEN CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS for Blue Heron Review will be from March 20th through April 20th, 2017. THE HEALING ISSUE: As always, Blue Heron welcomes all meditative, reflective, and metaphysical poetry. For this issue, Blue Heron is looking specifically for poems about HEALING. This can take any form you wish: physical healing, emotional healing, spiritual healing, global healing, and the healing of our planet. (See the Submission Guidelines page for full details.)

The current Blue Heron Speaks Featured Author for the month of February is poet, Karissa Knox Sorrell, author of Evening Body (Finishing Line Press, 2016). Read 3 sample poems, and learn more about her work, on the BLUE HERON SPEAKS page. We will have a new, featured author in March. Can’t wait to share the news with you!

May your days be filled with creativity and inspiration. Put some goodness back into the world, with your words!

With kind wishes,
Cristina M. R. Norcross, Founding Editor
Blue Heron Review

The Blue Heron Speaks Featured Author for February 2017 is Karissa Knox Sorrell

Welcome to the February edition of Blue Heron Speaks! It is my great pleasure to shine a spotlight on the vivid, evocative, and lush verse of poet, Karissa Knox Sorrell, author of Evening Body (Finishing Line Press, 2016). Her beautiful imagery weaves a tapestry of color, emotion, and meaning in ways that the reader only truly absorbs after experiencing each poem several times. These are thoughtful, artful works that ask us to journey to the center of ourselves, when moving toward the center of each poem. Walk down the road ~ follow the path of words.

To learn more about the writing of Karissa Knox Sorrell, please visit the Blue Heron Speaks page of our site, where you will find sample poems by our featured author and information about where to order her books.

karissa-knox-sorrell-author-photo

(author photo by Karla Wardlow)

Karissa Knox Sorrell is an ESL teacher, poet, and writer from Nashville, Tennessee. She earned her MFA in Creative Writing from Murray State University in 2010. Her poetry chapbook, Evening Body, was published in 2016 by Finishing Line Press. Karissa’s poems have been seen in journals such as Cumberland River Review, Gravel Mag, Two Cities Review, and Whale Road Review. Karissa has also published essays in journals such as St. Katherine Review and Cargo Literary, and has an essay in the anthology Soul Bare, published in 2016 by InterVarsity Press. She is currently working on a second chapbook and a YA novel. Connect with Karissa at karissaknoxsorrell.com or @KKSorrell.